help no water.

scottc

John or anyone that can help,

My name is Scott and my friend I will leave unnamed needs some direction or advice. My friend bought a place in Mass City Mi. and has shared a well that is on the neighbors property next door for the past 6 years. In which in the deed to the property he bought it states he has water rights to this well. There was an agreement and my friend paid for the use of this well. The property next door burned down and now the owner refuses to communicate with my friend to get the well pump turned back on. My friend has been told not go on the property or it could be considered trespassing. We are looking for any advice or direction, or person to contact to just get the water back on so the house is usable. This has been going on for approximately 9 months. We cant use it nor can it be rented.

Help,

Scott

jd

Administrator
Staff member
I have no experience with anything like this, but I would think bringing in the deed to the sheriffs office or a lawyer or both would be a good place to start.

-John

scottc

thanks

I have no experience with anything like this, but I would think bringing in the deed to the sheriffs office or a lawyer or both would be a good place to start.

-John

Thanks John. I was just checking if you knew anyone out there or lawyers that might know the process before we spend all kinds of money and get nowhere.

MZEMS2

I would get the township or village, the sheriffs dept, and the insurance carrier for the neighbor's house all involved. If the house burned, it's pretty much up to the insurance company as to what the future holds for the property. If there is some sort of investigation into the fire going on, this would be the best bet around that also I would think. Maybe it was arson and the "owner" is in deep...so he's holding it against anyone he can. If your buddy holds a written document stating the facts about water rights, it seems like a sealed deal.

craigrev