Ice fishing electronics

saltyg

Does anyone out there have experience with ice fishing flashers like the Vexilar or the new Hummingbirds? thanks

fishcrib

Vexilar

I highly recommend a Vexilar. Never used any other flasher, but I am sure any flasher is better than none. Once you try one you will wish you had done it sooner.
Good luck.

snowfish

The new liquid crystals may be worth checking into.

I've been using a ShowDown for a couple years now. Love it!

http://www.productsthatsave.com/aqshdififimo.html

Nice and quiet, extremely easy to use, and shows the water column vertically. Noise rejection is great, even with 3 other locators (Vex, Marcum, & Clearwater) running in the same house.

Uses batteries slightly faster. I think it's due to the heated LCD. The heater is for fishing out side of a shack. Inside you could turn the heater off. Might save a little, but didn't seem to make much difference on our last trip. I get a day and a half, out of it, of pretty much continuous use. Packs really well too when go ulta-portable. (cruising around with the packshak)

I started using a Vexilar FL-8 a couple of years ago. Flashers in general are an amazing tool for ice fishing. You know immediately if you are on fish or not. How aggressive they are and what depth. I would never be able to ice fish without one now...it would be fishing blind.

wisangler

I've fished with them all. Vex's, Marcum's, Humminbird's, X67's....

X67 still gets my vote as long as it is set up correctly.

Run a split screen zoom. One side is the full water column and the other is the depth you are targeting.

Don't let anyone that is advocating a flasher give you the "real-time feedback" big steaming pile of BS. If your screen is scrolling from right to left, the right side of the screen is instant. If it takes 6 seconds to scroll across the screen, you get 6 seconds of history to watch your jigging pattern and pick out the preference of the fish for the day.