Moving and making a living in the UP

cummins

My wife and I are seriously thinking about moving to the UP. We are in our mid forties and have no kids. I'm a licensed/insured builder and having talked with some locals up there I don't think I'll have any problems finding work. My wife is a graphic artist @ a weekly paper here; we are trying to dream up a job for her. Health insurance and benefits will be gone from her job.
We already own some property in the north central UP (snowbelt) and were thinking about building some small cabins for rentals: snowmobiling, quads & SxS, hunters and fishermen. Thanks for any thoughts and suggestions.

loriwlrc

Wow your us! Dave's a contractor, I'm an artist, we had your same dream.We had mentors that gave us the ups and downs, Richard and Sandy. Here we are 11 years into our project, I'm speaking for myself ( not Dave), we're lucky Dave's a contractor, I haven't been so lucky to make it in my field, so I work 2 part time jobs, 1 teaching art classes the other job is @ a convience store, plus 7 days a week @ the cabins, Dave is here as often as time lets him, plus in the winter he volunteers as a groomer and attends meetings that are related to tourisum. 1st. off ,your at the mercy of the weather, 2nd off, your location is everything, the best of all worlds is to be close to gas, food supplies, be close to a trail system, and if at all possiable be on the water so you can take full advantage of all 4 seasons. 3rd have lots of money or good 2nd. jobs. unless you can have 90% occupancy 365 days of the year. 4th be prepared to be available 24/7, and like people, as well as patients. It is a dream that will probably not make you rich in $'s but it will make you rich in friends.

whitedust