Wis trail sticker / DNR registrstion issue

pirate

I'm a IL primary resident , but own a cabin in Villa county . Bought and registered my new sled in Wi in Sept . (from Trackside , in Eagle River ) Sled is kept in Wis also .

I went to the WI DNR website last week to order up my trail sticker .

Now here is my beef , I had to pay the $50 because my primary driver's lic was from IL .. Regardless of being a WI property owner and regardless of the sled being registered and bought & stored in Wi .
There was no way around on the DNR website .. This seems wrong to me .. Thoughts ?
Also had to pay a $3 fee to .. So $53 in total ..

And on a 2nd note , I did not join my local club this year because the one in my area raised there membership to $25 in state and $30 for out of state members . That seems odd to me that they raised there fee's , isn't that controlled/set by Wis or can they set there fee's at whatever price they want ?
Thx

durphee

Follow the guide sheet snobuilder posted, it's very user friendly. Purchasing your sled in Wisconsin or being a property owner has no bearing on the trail sticker process, it's where you register it. You, like me, live out of state and register it in wisconsin. You don't have to be a member of your local sleddin club, although I did join the club that grooms the trails where in ride most, so you can join any club in wisconsin. So, join the AWSC, pick a club and get the $10 sticker. If not, call and get your $30 sticker.

yamadooed

With your Wi registration numbers it should be only $30 per sled... When searching for clubs you'll notice some of the more active charge more which only seems fitting...

snobuilder

The membership $$ ain't squat when it comes to the revenue needed to maintain trails. It takes active volunteers and fund raisers along with state funding through sled registrations and now trail passes to keep the trails rideable.

pirate