Microsoft advice

m8man

I’m not tech savvy as u all know. My kid bought a new laptop from Walmart took it home got it set up Friday and used it Friday for school. It asked him to do a software update today, he did then asked him to enter authorization code sent to his cell phone. He got a different phone # Since the original account was set up and he tried to update it or se d to an email. It says his account is locked and has to wait 30 days to have a code sent to a diff number or email. We call Microsoft and never get anyone and it says do an online chat. We tried and they say wait till 12-15-21. He needs the laptop but we’ve spent hours on this already and I’m about ready to break something. He has tried everything and is pretty upset about not having it for school. I’d buy another one but all his Microsoft stuff is locked. I wven went to the Microsoft site and looked up phone numbers and tried that in case it was a wrong number…..
Thanks
M🤬man

mezz

Do a system restore on it. when it asks again about doing a sofware up-date, skip it until later.

gary_in_neenah

Super Moderator
Staff member
I feel your pain. I bought a pair of tickets for the wife and daughter to see Wicked. Got home from the box office and I get an email from Ticketmaster to confirm purchase. I got in to one of those "no win" scenarios where you go round and round with passwords that don't work or need an update. Wasted a half day with that, went back to the Box Office and explained Ticketmaster didn't recognize my I.P. or passwords. 45 minutes at the ticket window, we/they tried every trick in the book. After about an hour of this the lady reaches over, hits a button and Prints out the damn tickets! Could've done that to begin with but Ticketmaster is forcing their partners to GO TICKETLESS by using your smart phone. The Packers are doing this at Lambeau also, supposedly to ward off Covid... guess it didn't help with that Rodgers thing...