RV Solar panel

bayfly

I am in the process of replacing my current snowmobile hauler/camper and am interested in hearing opinions on the use of solar power in the camper. One of the trailer options includes a 100 watt solar system, a 2000 watt inverter, a two 12-volt deep cycle batteries. I realize solar may not be much use for winter camping, but I think it would be helpful for spring/fall ATV trips where shore power may not be available. I will have a generator as well but would like to be able to limit its use as much as possible. I envision powering the LED lights, device chargers, refrigerator, and furnace fan with solar power. I am a novice on this topic and would like any opinions on if others have found these solar panels useful, if the battery capacity should be expanded, etc. Thanks in advance for any information.

heckler56

When I bought my rv a few years ago I was totally inept about solar and batteries. I still am today but have spent big $’s and allot of personal time upgrading the rig.

It’s a journey but try and follow this: #1) add up what you will be running. Everything has a wattage and amperage per device. My rv frig consumes 4 amps, times 24 hours, would consume if running all day and night 96 amp hours. Odds it won’t run the whole time but this gives you and idea. Your inverter will consume amp hours and so on. #2) Agm or flooded acid batteries are sold with a label to tell you how many amp hours available, but here is the rub, those two styles of batteries breakdown after 50% of that is consumed. So you really only get useable 50% of the amp hours listed. #3) Solar. If you want to regenerate your batteries by solar rule of thumb is the total of wattage from your panels should be 2X the batteries’ combined (safely) usable wattage. In my case I have 200 amp hours usable and should have 400 watts in solar panels. I only have 300 watts so if there are multiple days in a row no sun my batteries will fall behind.