Trailer Tires PSI

ridindirty800

Just replaced my Triton trailer tires and made a mistake and ordered LOAD E (90 PSI) rather then LOAD C (50 PSI)that was on it. Wondering if I can lower PSI for a smoother ride. I only ask as I have heard guy do this, but not sure. Maybe I wont even notice the difference but feel it will be rougher.

dfattack

I'm not a mechanic but what I have learned yes you can. The sidewalls are still stiffer but reducing PSI will help. Just make sure the tread is flat against the pavement so you get even wear (not wearing more in the center or outer edges from under inflation). Mechanics, please correct me if I'm wrong.

Tuck

what size tires? I always run all my trailers at 5 under max PSI pressure. some of the smaller tires also have a max speed listed, usually increases with load capacity rating. Found that out on my Triton 2 place tilt and went with the E rating on it. Yes you can run less than max PSI in any tire.

ridindirty800

what size tires? I always run all my trailers at 5 under max PSI pressure. some of the smaller tires also have a max speed listed, usually increases with load capacity rating. Found that out on my Triton 2 place tilt and went with the E rating on it. Yes you can run less than max PSI in any tire.
20.5x8x10 tire

dfattack

My tires are 80psi max and I run them at 70 psi unless I have three sleds loaded, which is I almost never do.

mrbb

I would run them at 70, allowing room for air to go up as heat builds in them, the ride difference will not be notifiable IMO< I have gone from load c to E on all my trailers as there a better tires, less side wall flex when in cross winds and allow for more stable trailer due to it!
just make sure you also know the speed rating, as not all tires have the same ratings and these days, many tow WAY past trailer tires speed ratings!

SHOOT2KILL