ATV with a plow

mezz

IMO, the only problem with the steel wire, it wears & breaks quickly when repetitiously used in a plowing application. As I'm sure you're aware of what happens with that steel cable when it breaks, it frays, it pokes you & draws blood plus it takes time to put it back together. When it's cold & snowing it's azz off, that's the last thing I want to deal with anymore. The synthetic line will last much longer & when it breaks you simply cut off & retie with a simple knot & your right back to plowing. It might cost more, but it will outlast 10 steel cables. I am also a big fan of Warn Winches, never been a problem for me & IMO, you do get what you pay for. Just my .02 ;)-Mezz

elf

I'll just follow up with everybody's advice. You can plow a lot more snow than you'd think with a regular 4X4 ATV. I've been plowing for yrs with a 2001 Sportsman 500 and I'm always amazed the amount of snow I can move. As others have said, plow it wide so you always space to move snow to.

mrbb

SYN line will NOT outlast wire rope 10 times, not even close
they both have pro's and con's
you will also notice they don't have SYN line in anything heavy duty, like dozers and cranes
and there is a reason for that, it holds up to elements better
have seen dozers here with winch steel line that is 40+ yrs old and still working

I doubt you will ever see any SYN line that makes it to 40 yrs old and is still safe!

syn
pro
s
NO poky fingers, more flexible, lighter and most of it floats, stores less energy
CON's
cost more, can be damaged easier from being dragged across things, (why they come with the protective sleeves) can be effected by UV and moisture over time and costs more, more maintenance IF you read up on them and care for them as OEM wants!

Wire rope
Pro's cheaper, less issues with being dragged across things, less maintenance , and effect by weather

Con's, stores a bunch of energy, can get pokey on fingers, stiffer to work with