Checker board tile floor

Sweep800

Going to install a black and white checker board tile floor in a remodel house but a little unsure on what color grout to use. Most responses are to use gray or black but not white. Also I was thinking 1/8 grout joints and use unsanded. Ant thoughts would be appreciated.

azandy

I install tile for a living. I would use black or charcoal color grout. It has to be sand grout.
I use a smaller joint like a 1/8". Will look very nice. I have done several of these checkered flag patterns over the years. Once did a showroom at a now auto dealer.sharp look.

tilesnake

gray is nice , i myself like a small grout joint, harder to do but it looks sharp. if its a small grout joint , then you can use unsanded. good luck..ps got a union card? lol

polarisrider1

Three tile guys on JDee. Tileguy for 31 years. listen to azandy. Myself I would use charcoal grout. If you go black grout seal the white tile first to prevent staining from the high carbon content of the black grout. And use sanded grout with 1/8" grout joint.

scott_b

Depending on te size consider doing a larger patern, like 4x4 of each color, it can make a big area look much less busy.

mtb1115

Don't, if your not going to live there don't decorate to your taste.... Go with a neutral color tile & grout and it will appeal to more potential buyer or tenants.

polarisrider1

The owners picked it out. I'm just installing it. tks