Good Bye Gracie (our Weimaraner)

cummins

We had to have our 10 year old(?) Gracie put to sleep this morning as the Cancer was on/in her Colon and Liver. About six weeks ago, she started to eat less and less and these last couple weeks she would barely eat anything. This was from a dog that we called Pig as she would eat anything. We made the mistake early on to let her lick our plates, and she turned into quite the beggar. My wife rescued her @ Humane Society and the vet thought she was 4 when we got her.
I really didn't want anything to do with a pet; but soon enough, she started to go to work with me (I'm a builder) just about everyday except when it was to cold to be in a truck all day. As she got older, she would sleep with one eye open and get up and follow me if I got out of her sight at a jobsite. She loved to go anywhere with us/me. Deer camp in Sidnaw, snowmobiling camp by Raco, camping @ our friends place near Testors,etc. Everybody liked her.
We knew that this day was coming, I just can't believe how hard it's hitting me. Her younger brother (not related) is another rescue Weim and will really miss her too. Now there's an empty spot in my truck and a bigger emptiness in my heart. Good bye Gracie.

jd

Administrator
Staff member
Sorry to hear about your loss, but you did the right thing by not letting her suffer.

Trust me when I say the pain will ease and they joy you get with the your memories of her will never go away.

-John

fatdaddy

I'm so sorry to her about Gracie, I purchased our little yorki just over a year ago and I can't believe how much love they give and fun these dogs are. I can truely understand how you must feel not having your buddy around to sit next to you and look up at you. You enjoyed her for ten years, thats a pretty good gift, now she is making someone else smile, she's in a good place free of pain and only time will heal yours. You have many fond memories and those will never be forgotten.

skiroule