John Dee was right

Willh

So I've been following John Dee since ~2002 maybe, maybe earlier. I'm not sure. However, until 2016 I lived in Maine, around Fort Kent in the far north before moving to Bangor, etc.

Anyways, I'm one of those weird people who chooses where they live based on the winters. It's not just about snow, it's about cold, about duration, on and on. I love the aesthetic of winter and the weather related to it is one of my favorite interests - bar none, followed with that is an aversion to big cities. I grew up in Atlanta for a while - hated it. I love rural, boreal forested areas. So anyways, after following John Dee for years and years my wife and I took a leap of faith and moved to Calumet without ever having been to the area. We'd seen tons of pictures, I studied every bit of climatic info I could find - on and on - but we had never been here.

Now, two years later we're sold on the area. I've been living here, exploring and loving essentially every season that passes by - though I still VASTLY prefer the winter (however, to live in an area with no summer essentially puts you in an arctic desert...so you have to compromise, lol.)

So yeah. My wife and I just bought our first house (outright - no mortgage). The closing is on thursday. We're staying in the Calumet/Laurium area - we love this town - and I am so thankful I found this place.

Thanks again for the inspiration, John Dee and everyone here - I've been reading the forums for years.

gary_in_neenah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Will, glad to hear things worked out well for you. I recall your postings at the time of the move and thought that's a "substantial Leap of Faith". Then we didn't hear from you for awhile. Some thought you might be snowed in, lost in the woods, or eaten by a wild animal...