Ski Doo Clutches

russholio

I'm no clutch expert, but having done it a couple times I'd have to say no. The whole operation is not difficult, but removing it from the crank is the easiest part!

indy_500

Yes you can remove half of it and clean it and leave the stationary sheave on the crank. Doo clutches are craaaazy LOL

longtrack

You get someone who has a puller and knows what they are doing to pull the Clutch off and take it apart. Then you will know how to do it the proper way. If you don't want to learn how to disassemble it, spray a Pressure Washer inside of it as its running.

The outside half does separate from the inside half. Usually that is done after the complete Cutch is removed and the Puller is used as the Tool to knock them apart. Then you need the Retainers to hold the Buttons together to separate the Pieces on the outside half.

Everything must be reassembled in the same position it was taken apart. There is a place called C&T on Doo talk where you can buy Clutch Tools. Then buy a Service Manual CD off Ebay.

renegade

Doo clutches can be split on the shaft. There are arrows and marks to line up when putting it back together. Not rocket science. Once you get the sheave off, then the inside of the sheave slides out, but nice and easy. I assume you won't have the tool to hold the buttons in so try to do one at a time so not to lose and buttons, o rings, or springs. They can be assembled one at a time when going back together, just don't forget to line up marks every step of the re-installation. Once you get it apart, you can check all the rollers and weights and clean as needed.

mjkaliszak

The clutch puller isn't a costly item. I have a puller for every sled I own. Parts Unlimited , Shade tree, ect...
Well worth the 30-50 bucks.

longtrack