tax question

hemi_newman

Ok its that time of the year..Taxes. So I know I have to report my earnings at my full time job. My question is..I am a Volunteer Firefighter, paid on call, I made $2,400 from the fire dept this year. Do I need to also report this income? No federal was taken out and I have my deductions at 0. So I have a feeling good Ol Uncle Sam is going to nail me if I have to report the $2,400 and no federal was withheld. Thanks guys.

dawolf

You've got to report it unfortunately. Keep track of any unreimbursed expenses along with your mileage and if they exceed 2 pct. of your AGI you might be able to deduct those to lessen the sting a bit.

chicagosledder

Make sure you deduct your fuel, mileage on your truck or car (depreciation), your clothes, study material for firefighting (books, etc.), gym membership, cell phone bill, laudry detergent and dry cleaning to name a few. The government takes enough from us, you might as well get what you can in return.

hemi_newman

Not the news I was looking for, I did not keep track of my Mileage responding to the fire hall, or other expenses related to the fire dept. I use to get a refund and now it looks like I have to pay in. My wife works claiming 0, my fulltime job I claim 2.(we have one child at the age of 6). I joined the fire dept to save lives and now it looks like I made a mistake. Yes I worked longer hours at my fulltime job than 2015. we bought a house this year(first time buying house) and it looks like that credit is gone. I was using TurboTax to see what I was getting back/paying in. I'm now going to go to an accountant and hope for the best.

dawolf