hardwood floors....

Firecatguy

I am working on a redo at home and took the carpet up from the floor and like to redo the the wood and here is the issue....no this last carpet but once before someone glued either pad or carpet down and I am not sure what to do just use sander and try remove clue with that? I have googled it a few times and read that if its black and gooy that is asbestos pre 80s stuff? anyone know about that? what i have is not "gooy"sp? but dry and will flake off in some spots....any help or ideas be great...

garageguy

If its black, dry and flaking off in spots, it may well be Asbestos containing. I worked in a Hospital for 30 plus years and was involved in asbestos sampling and testing. Get a sample and have it tested, or wet it down when your sanding, where a mask and hope for the best.

ezra

or just scrape up carpet residue. then pay the $2.75sf to have it sanded and refinished and go ridding up north cuz u cant be on it any way.
see how well that workes for u

Firecatguy

no sled this year just doing projects waiting on spring.....cant sub this one sure wish I did with bathroom redo......I really looking forward to this project been putting it off for few years now last weekend i got it painted and new ceiling fan in updated all the outlets carpet is gone I will see if i can post a pic of this as i am thinking this was just a dark pad that was glued down and turned glue black

Firecatguy

535365_10200693968020819_801161275_n_zpsdbe06975.jpg

Firecatguy

the pad I just took up was stapled down this was under that......

tryed a quick scrap and it came right up going be a long sat.......

garyl62

Many times the black mastic contained asbestos, but that almost looks like the old black backing from carpet padding. If it's hard and flakes off, it could be glue, if its softer in nature it's more likly a foam product from the carpet or padding.