Is Arctic Cat F5 big enough??

Cat_man

I am an avid snowmobillier but have been riding an outdated sled from the 90's. I am your basic trail rider and play around a little off trial. I found a nice 2004 F5 for sale, but not sure if that is a big enough sled for me. I am about 6'2" 230lbs. I don't need a sled that gets up to 80-100, I am not that type of rider. Looking for feedback.

mezz

Let's start by saying, you would definetly benefit from the updated suspension over a '90's era sled by leaps & bounds. As far as saying is a 500cc big enough, well, that has to be a choice you will have to make. Weigh out what what you ride now & try to compare the perspective purchase against it. How much are going to have to spend to up-date your current ride? How much would you have to spend if you went with a bigger motor? If your getting a good deal on the 500, then pull the trigger.-Mezz

dickmsp

Get something rider forward!! I'm 6'4", 220. I started riding the winter of '03-'04.. Bought an 03 Polaris Classic (old body style) and at the end of the season, a close out '04 Ski-doo rev (GSX Limited 600 SDI). I couldn't believe the difference!! How in the heck did all you guys ride the old body style sleds for so long???? No wonder why 100 miles was a long day and you needed a hot tub after 100 miles!! The rider forward will fit your tall frame better, and yes, suspensions are better. For about the same or a tic more money, you can get a good used rider forward sled from any manufacturer. As far as the 500, one of my sleds is a 2011 F-5 LXR and I'm surprised at how fast it is "corner to corner." Good luck, and let us know what you get

Cat_man

I will add another question to the thread and ask for reviews on 04' F5 SnoPro. How is the ride? Any pros or cons about the sled in general.

Thanks

whitedust